Mathematics, Statistics and Epidemiology

It occurs to me that the rest of this site does not present adequately my life in quantitative things. I hope this page rectifies that.

My PhD was in Mathematical Modelling in Epidemiology. In my dissertation, I developped an age structured model of disease propagation that I then used to analyse various immunization strategies for combatting children's diseases, in particular, measles. From there, I worked in mathematics departments at Cornell College in Iowa, the College of Charleston (now University of Charlestion, I hear), and Bradley University in Peoria.

While at Peoria, I became a tenured Associate Professor, obtained a Fulbright, and was invited to the University of Tübingen for a sabbatical in the Institut für Medizinische Biometrie in the Medical School there. While at Tübingen I worked on models of the spread of HIV and various intervention strategies.

One of my activities at Tübingen was statistical consulting for the researchers in medicine. I like it so much that, when I saw an ad for a Biostatistician in Paris, I applied and took a job at Synthélabo Recherche.

Those were the days, my friend. At that time, there were only statisticians. It was just before the creation of the departments of Statistical Programming and Data Management, so the statisticians had to do it all.

I learned a lot in those days.

The first Novartis tour

After my wife's company was swallowed by Bristol-Myers-Squibb, she had to find a job. There were none available in Paris at that time, so we both took positions at Novartis in Basle. I had applied for a position in Statistical Quality Assurance, but my wife wanted that one, so I took one in Clinical Pharmacology and Phase I.

For three years, I worked in pre-clinical and phase I. During this time, I was named "Pride Statistician", a designation for a small group of statisticians who helped decide on the molecules to be taken into the "first in man" studies. I also developped the first Standard Operating Procedures for the Validation of Statistical Programming.

Boomerang Pharmaceutical Communications

Also during the first Novartis tour, I had worked at night to obtain an MBA. After completing it, I took a job at Boomerang Pharmaceutical Communications where I became Director of Business Initiatives. My most successful initiative was a system of online recruiting of patients into clinical trials. This activity actually saved the company from the "dot com" crash, but it didn't save me. I was let go due to the company's financial exigency.

Germinal Knowledge

It is a little known fact that my original intent in creating my company was to do data mining (and usability studies). The "Germinal" in the name comes from the book Germinal by Zola which is about miners.

In spite of the emphasis on human development that has evolved in the company, I have done several projects of a statistical nature:

The second Novartis tour

In 2008 I was called back to Novartis as a statistical consultant, first for a six month full-time contract, then for other individual projects. I worked for Novartis Oncology in their statistical group dedicated to planning first in man trials. In addition to checking statistical analysis plans, report plans, answering FDA questions, etc. I did clinical trial simulations in the programming language R.

The final project that I did for Novartis Oncology, so far, is to develop an online interactive platform for the Baysian calculations they do for estimating toxicity in the first in man studies. The second tour at Novartis ended in 2011.

The wonderful days of Hexal

Return to the pharma industry; This time at Hexal, GmbH in Germany. Hexal belongs to Sandoz and specializes in Biosimilars. I participated in an American submission and an European one. The last part of this contract was an exploration, or, say root cause analysis, of a study that had unexpected results. This period of "statistical free association" allowed me to bring together most of the statistical methodologies I had used in my life, and more. It was a statistician's dream.

Excursion into the Cigarette Industry

One of those outsourcing stories ended my career at Hexal through no fault of my own. Philip Morris International, one of the largest cigarette producers in the world, has developed an apparatus that reduces the toxins in cigarette smoke by around 90-95%. They want to investigate whether or not the health problems associated with cigarette smoking are correspondingly reduced. I thought to myself "It's kind of like methodone programs for health addicts - Something that would help them reduce their dependency and possibly quit.

I met a lot of nice people. It was a bit too far afield of my "pharma upbringing", so I decided to move on.

Back to Pharma: Takeda

Today, I am back in pharma and working happily in Gastroenterology - one of my major responsibilities at Synthélabo back in the '90s. I hope it is the last job I ever have.

Other, as they say:

To keep my hand in statistics between pharma contracts, I make statistics related Websites. Here are a couple you may find interesting :

Free Statistics for Everybody - a site for introducing some of the basic statistics and programming (R and SAS) used in clinical research.
PKPD - Differential Equations for the Pharmacokineticist.

©2015 Germinal Knowledge. All rights reserved.

Mathématiques, Statistiques et Epidémiologie

Je viens de me rendre compte que le reste de ce site ne traite pas la période de ma vie où je faisais des choses quantitatives. J'espère que cette page corrige cette omission.

Mon doctorat est dans la modélisation mathématique appliquée à l'épidémiologie. Dans ma thèse, j'ai développé un modèle mathématique de la transmission des maladies qui incorpore l'âge des personnes et qui permet l'analyse des stratégies de vaccination. J'ai utilisé le modèle pout évaluer les programmes de vaccination contre la rougeole. Dans la dernière année de mes études, j'ai obtenu un poste à temps pleins dans la faculté des mathématiques à Cornell College dans l'Iowa, puis l'université de Charleston, et à Bradley Université à Peoria.

Pendant mon séjour à Peoria, j'ai obtenu la promotion au « Associate Professor », gagné une bourse Fulbright, et une invitation á passer une année sabbatique à l'université de Tübingen en Allemagne dans leur Institute de la Biométrie Médicale. A Tübingen j'ai travaillé sur les modèles de la transmission du SIDA et diverses stratégies d'intervention.

Une de mes activités à Tübingen était de donner du conseil statistique aux chercheurs de médecine. Ce travail me plaisait tellement que j'ai postulé pour un poste de Biostatisticien à Paris chez Synthélabo Recherche.

Ah, c'était la meilleure époque, mon ami.... A cette époque là il n'y était que des statisticiens. C'était juste avant la création des postes de programmeur statistique et de « data manager », alors nous statisticiens avons tout fait.

J'ai beaucoup appris à cette époque là :

Novartis : le premier tour

Après la fusion d'UPSA avec Bristol-Myers-Squibb, ma femme a du chercher un nouveau poste. A cette époque il n'y avait pas de poste à Paris dans l'industrie pharmaceutique. Alors, nous avons accepté deux postes chez Novartis à Bâle. Au départ j'avais voulu un poste en Assurance Qualité mais ma femme le voulait aussi, donc j'ai pris un poste en Biostatistiques de la pharmacologie clinique et Phase I.

Pour trois ans j'ai travaillé dans la pré-clinique, la biologie et phase I. Pendant ce temps, je suis devenu "Pride Statistician", une désignation pour les statisticiens qui aident dans le choix des molécules pour les premiers essais chez l'homme. J'ai développé également les premières procédures opérationnelles standardisées pour la validation de la programmation statistique.

Boomerang Pharmaceutical Communications

En parallèle pendant le premier tour Novartis, j'ai obtenu le MBA. Après l'avoir fini, j'ai pris le poste de Directeur du Développement Commercial chez Boomerang Pharmaceutical Communications. Mon initiative la plus réussie était la création d'un système de recrutement en ligne des patients pour les essais cliniques. Cette activité a sauvé la société du « crash dot com » " crash, mais elle ne m'ai pas pu sauver. J'étais licencié pour les raisons économiques.

Germinal Knowledge

Il est un fait peu connu, mais mon intention du départ a été de faire le « datamining et des études d'ergonomie. Le « Germinal » dans le nom vient du livre de Zola sur le mineurs.

Malgré l'évolution dans mes activités vers le développement humain, j'ai eu plusieurs projets d'une nature statistique :

Le seconde tour Novartis

En 2008 j'a eu l'occasion de revenir chez Novartis en tant que consultant dans les statistiques, d'abord pour six mois à temps plein et ensuite d'autres projets ponctuels. J'ai travaillé pendant ce tour chez Novartis Oncologie dans le groupe qui planifie les premiers études chez l'homme. Bien sûr, j'ai rédigé des plan d'analyse statistique, des rapports, des réponses au FDA, etc. J'ai effectué également des simulations des essais cliniques dans le langage R.

Le dernier projet qui j'ai fait pour Novartis Oncologie, jusqu'ici, a été le développement d'une plateforme en ligne pour les calculs Bayesiens pour les estimations des probabilité de toxicité dans les premières études chez l'homme. La deuxième phase Novartis a terminé en 2011.

Les Jours Merveilleux de Hexal

Retour à l'industrie pharmaceutique : Cette fois-ci chez Hexal, GmbH en Allemagne. Hexal appartient à Sandoz et se spécialise en biosimilaires. A Hexal, on a soumis deux dossiers de mise sur le marché l'un aux Etats-Unis et l'autre en Europe. A la fin du contrat, j'ai participé dans un projet d'analyse des causes (root cause analysis) pour une étude où les résultats ont été inattendus. Cette période d'exploration statistique m'a permis d'utiliser la majorité de méthodoliogies statistiques de ma vie et d'en apprendre encore plus. C'était un rêve.

Detour à l'industrie de la cigarette:

Le rêve de Sandoz a été terminé abruptement par une histoire de soustraitance. Philip Morris International, parmis les plus grands des producteurs mondiaux de cigarettes, a développé un appareil qui reduit les substances toxiques dans la fumée de cigarette par 90-95%. Ils veulent rechercher si les problèmes de santé associés sont également reduits. J'ai pensé aux programmes de méthadone qui peuvent éventuellement aider á quelqu'un à arrêter leurs addiction.

J'ai rencontré pleins de gens sympathiques. L'expérience dans leurs recherche a été un peu trop loin de mon concept de science, donc j'ai décidé de partir.

De Retour dans l'industrie Pharmaceutique : Takeda

Actuellement, je suis de retour dans la pharma dans la gastroenterologie - l'une de mes anciennes responsabilités dans les années 90 - et je suis très heureux. J'espère que c'est mon dernier poste.

Autre, comme on dit:

Pour garder ma main à la pate, entre contrats dans les labos pharmaceutiques j'ai fait deux sites Web qui peuvent vous intéresser :

Free Statistics for Everybody - un site pour discuter quelques concepts de base d'analyses statistiques et programmation en R et SAS et
PKPD - les équations différentielles pour le pharmacocinéticien.

©2017 Germinal Knowledge. Tous droits réservés.