Mediation

Mediation is a fantastic mixture of interpersonal communication, self-esteem, negotiation and psychology.

Most people consider conflict as something disagreable and they avoid it as much as possible. While I very well understand that it is disagreable (don't belive those who tell you it could be "fun"), if conflict goes on too long or too intensively, it can do harm to the parties involved.

The mediator does not solve the conflict for the participants. I would love to go on explaining why this is a good approach -- perhaps in the second edition of the website.

Conflict that the participants have solved themselves is more successful and the solution is more permanent. So what does the mediator do? The mediator is a catalyst, but also a reminder of our human tendencies, how we got into the conflict in the first place, and how/what we want to get out of it.

Mediation requires a basic understanding of human nature and psychology (no, the participants are not mentally ill, even if they accuse one another to be). It also requires neutrality, confidentiality and trust.

I like to distinguish between conflict management and conflict resolution. By conflict management, I understand the study of the nature of conflict, its triggers, and what kind of behavioural changes may be necessary in order to avoid conflict, or possibly resolve it.

By conflict resolution, I mean the techniques that are used, by mediators and others, to arrive at a real solution to the conflict. So many consultants have learned a lot about the nature of conflict, but fall short of suggesting effective ways that one may actually intervene and resolve the conflict. One of my favorite quotes is by Plato and also gives a bit of the nature of my discourse here on this page.

For the example below, would you recommend mediation?
©2015 Germinal Knowledge. All rights reserved.
<

Médiation

La médiation est un mélange fantastique de la communication interpersonnelle, l'estime-de-soi, la négociation et la psychologie.

La plupart des gens pensent que le conflit est désagréable et ils l'évitent tant que possible. Je comprend bien l'aspect désagréable (ne croyez pas ceux qui disent que le conflit peut être «fun»), si le conflit continue trop longtemps ou d'une manière trop intensive, les conséquences peuvent être graves.

Le médiateur ne ressoude pas le conflit pour les participants. J'aimerais bien expliquer pourquoi ceci est une bonne approche -- peut-être dans la prochaine édition du site Web.

Un conflit qui est résolu par les participants même aura plus de succès et la solution durera plus longtemps. Alors, que fait le médiateur ? Il serv de « catalyseur », qui comprend nos tendances humaines - comment nous sommes arrivé au conflit, et ce que nous voulons en tirer.

La médiation exige une compréhension fondamentale de la nature humaine et de la psychologie (non, les participants dans un conflit ne sont pas mentalement malades, même s'ils s'en accusent mutuellement). La médiation exige également la neutralité, la confidentialité et la confiance.

Je distingue entre la gestion du conflit et la résolution du conflit. Par «gestion du conflit», je comprend l'étude de la nature du conflit, les déclencheurs de conflit, et le genre de changements du comportement qui peuvent aider dans la résolution du conflit.

Par «résolution du conflit», je fais référence aux techniques utilisées par les médiateurs et les autres pour arriver à une vraie solution du conflit. Beaucoup de consultants ont appris tellement sur la nature de conflit et comportement, mais ils ne savent pas aller jusqu'au but de l'application des mécanismes de résolution. Une de mes citations préférées est de Platon et résume bien mes opinions ci-dessus.

Le conflit suivant est un cas pour la médiation ?
©2015 Germinal Knowledge. Tous droits réservés.